Book Review: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Anne of Green Gables

Genre: Fiction (classics, children’s, young-adult)

Synopsis: As soon as Anne Shirley arrived at the snug,  white farmhouse called Green Gables, she knew she  wanted to stay forever… but would the Cuthberts  send her back to the orphanage? Anne knows she’s not  what they expected — a skinny girl with decidedly  red hair and a temper to match. If only she could  convince them to let her stay, she’d try very hard  not to keep rushing headlong into scrapes or blurt  out the very first thing she had to say. Anne was  not like anybody else, everyone at Green Gables  agreed; she was special — a girl with an enormous  imagination. This orphan girl dreamed of the day  when she could call herself Anne of Green Gables.

Rating: 5/5 stars

Review: I became interested in downloading Anne of Green Gables on Free Books app because of my favorite celebrity Anne Curtis-Smith. In one of her Youtube videos she mentioned that this is her favorite book. From that video I started to wonder why she likes it very much. After reading it last February, I wonder no more. It took me 5 consecutive days to finish it. Although it has been more than a month since I read the book, I can still remember what I felt while I’m reading it.

The book made it to my list of favorite books. I had a wonderful time reading it. I laughed, felt giddy, excited and a little bit sad along the way. Anne is such a smart girl. She talks a lot but it’s a no nonsense. Her use of words is advanced for her age but is still amazing and her being genuine is admirable. She is never afraid to say or show what she feels and thinks. Even though sometimes it can offend and  show disrespect to others especially the elders. Anne is a great child and she’s the type of person I want to be friends with. Diana Barry is lucky to be her bosom friend. 🙂 When she was younger she’s hard to talk to, gets mad easily and quite impulsive. But when she reached her teenage years, she changed her behavior and acted like a fine lady. She loves nature and to use her imagination. I love how she faced life’s challenges by using her imagination. As an adult, I have learned a lot from Anne like:

  •  Made mistakes but instead of grieving over it, she accepted the fact and never repeated them.
  •     Says sorry when she’s wrong, has offended or disrespected someone.
  •     Stays positive no matter what her situation is.
  •     Treasures her family and friends and is never shy of expressing her love for them.
  •     Chose to forgive people who have wronged her.

This book is full of wisdom and positivity. On the other hand, I find the story between Anne and Gilbert Blythe very cute. (*I ship them both.) And to be honest, I thought that Marilla and Matthew Cuthbert (Anne’s guardians) are a couple. Later did I know that they are siblings. lol They are not rich but they showered Anne with love and care and never tolerated her bad behavior.

I was appalled when I reached the last page. I wish it has no end for I want to read more about Anne’s story. How she faced life’s challenges is so inspiring. I recommend this book to everyone especially to children ages 9-12 or to those in there puberty. I’m sure they can learn something from Anne of Green Gables and they will also enjoy reading it. This book is realistic and the values showcased are applicable to our day to day life.

Pages: 360
Format: E-book

Source: Free Books app from Google Play

Read more on: Goodreads

*Synopsis and image from Goodreads..

Have you already read Anne of Green Gables? Feel free to share your thoughts below.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Leave a Comment

